NCS Repeats as D.C. Science Olympiad Champion

For the second straight year, National Cathedral School has won the Washington, D.C., Science Olympiad championship, earning a return ticket to the Science Olympiad National Tournament next month.
This is NCS's fourth consecutive state title: Before the launch of the D.C. tournament in 2018, NCS twice won the small-school championship in Maryland.
At this year's meet, held at Wilson High, NCS won 10 of the 23 events to edge Basis D.C. for the championship. Fourteen NCS students won at least one event, with Avery Borgmann '20 and Miranda Giambi '20 winning three and Sam Douki '20, Emily Kim '20, Audrey May '20, Nicole Owens '19, Giuliana Weiss '19, and Rachel Yoon '20 each winning two.
NCS's Middle School team took second place in the city meet, falling one point behind BASIS D.C.'s Middle School team.
The Upper School team will travel to Ithaca, N.Y., for the May 31-June 1 national meet at Cornell University. Last year, the Eagles came back from nationals with the Lockheed Martin Spirit Award, honoring the team for its "good sportsmanship, team collaboration, and school spirit." Serving as Washington, D.C.'s inaugural representative to nationals also drew the attention of D.C. Mayor Muriel E. Bowser, who wrote NCS to express her pride and thanks.
In Science Olympiad, teams of 15 students square off in events involving biology, chemistry, physics, engineering, and earth science. Some events present students with open-book exams, while others call on them to construct things. Results are tallied, and the schools are ranked. The overall winner is the one that ranks near the top in most events.
Congratulations to the NCS competitors at the state meet and to their sponsors: Avery Borgmann '20, Iva Budina '21, Sam Douki '20, Madeleine Drefke '21, Clare Fortier '21, Miranda Giambi '20, Emily Kim '20, Bea Markham '20, Audrey May '20, Brigitte Meyer '19, Nicole Owens '19, Yara Sigvaldason '20, Siena Waldman '20, Giuliana Weiss '19, Rachel Yoon '20, Catherine Arnold '21 (alternate), Greta Drefke '19 (alternate), Julia Poggi '21 (alternate), Maya Thumpasery '21 (alternate), Susan Karpatkin (sponsor), and Abby Korth (sponsor)!
    • NCS's two D.C. championship trophies. The Eagles also won 10 gold medals Saturday for event victories.