Seven Seniors Named Presidential Scholar Candidates

The U.S. Department of Education has nominated seven NCS students for the 2017 Presidential Scholars Program, signaling their standing among the country's exceptional high school seniors.
India Bhalla-Ladd '17, Skye Bork '17, Rebecca Davis '17, Kira Medish '17, Macallan Penberthy '17, Elizabeth Thoren '17, and Margaret Thoren '17 are eligible for consideration this spring by a panel of distinguished educators, which will help decide this year's scholars.
This marks the 12th time in 15 years that at least a half-dozen NCS students have been nominated for the Scholars Program, which was established in 1964 by President Lyndon B. Johnson.
Only about 0.1% of the country's 3.5 million high school seniors are chosen by the Education Department as scholar candidates, based on their SAT or ACT exam results. The review panel will select about 800 of these as semifinalists, based on their leadership qualities, strong character, community involvement, and academic and artistic achievements.
Up to 161 Presidential Scholars are chosen each year, and they are recognized in a June ceremony sponsored by the White House. Scholars are also invited to attend recitals, receptions, and ceremonies held in their honor, where they will have the opportunity to meet with national and international figures in arts, sciences, education, government, and letters.
Congratulations to each of these deserving students for this impressive honor!